top of page

RickRick's take on the World Champs in Basingstoke - Part 1 of 4


Where in God's name do I start.....

So it was June/July and Robb Hamilton asks me if I would like to help him with live scoring at the WFDF WOC 2017 and if I'd like to compete in all the events. My response was an easy one.

"YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!" My first thank you is Shaun, Jennie and Sophie Lewis as they were my first pit stop, putting me up for a couple of days before the tournament started. I couldn't even find Shaun in the car park when I arrived, I was a little tired after my 12 hour bus journey from Newcastle.

Setting up the course was brutal but very satisfying. Disc Zoo, (Charlie Mead and Nige Williams) provided excellent support leading up to the tournament and subsequently 18 brand new baskets on hire for all the players to enjoy at Basingstoke. A fantastic showing on their part using brilliant signage throughout the grounds and really giving the event a professional feel.

All photos are courtesy of Alan Sydney Willis, a stranger on the first day to me but a friend 5 minutes later. What a great guy, taking pictures and videos all week. Check out his website to see his fantastic portfolio.

http://www.aswillis.com/recent.html

To try and attempt to do this in chronological order is almost impossible because by the first day, I ended up taking a slightly larger role in the staff. Robb took the reigns, he had his Geordie fog horn and speed machine, a great family running every aspect of the event and really supportive local club members all decked out in a lovely shade of lime green.

Everyone I worked with and met at this tournament were such great people and I have moments I will truly never forget. One of the best must be my first experience of DDC with none other than local rookie, Shaun Lewis. Although he did receive an intense 10 minute session of training via YouTube the night prior to our first game so rookie isn't really accurate. We successfully managed to lose 7 games in a row. But those loses were the best loses I think we have ever had as sports persons.

We played against the best DDC players IN THE WORLD and even scored a point or two. The spirit was all their, they were patient, entertaining and the whole experience was so much fun. I think that was the surprise event of the tournament for all the Brits and one I know a lot of disc golfers in particular will now start playing full time. Watch out 2019!! Hey he did win one game.....against the Juniors haha (but they were Swedish super people, so even that wasn't fair, we were lucky ha)

Discathon......what the hell is that......pretty amazing actually. Complex, tactical, endurance based and really great to watch especially when there is a tight finish. I managed to nail what must be a British record.

I'd like to stop there but I can't.

The record would be for most penalties in one round of the event by an individual player hahaha and I'm proud of it, wasn't intentional but there you go.

You must be fit as a fiddle, look after your body and know how to BE THE DISC, ROLL THE DISC & FEEL THE DISC. Then when you get to the end, die slowly in a puddle on the floor. That was certainly a consistent scenario hahaha

And then we have the big gun, Thomas Burvall, essentially the moment we first conversed with one another properly throughout the event and I am so happy we did. He is an incredible athlete, a true friend and a joy to be around. Couldn't find a better example of a champion and how they should conduct themselves on or off the field. Truly inspirational and I hope this paragraph sends you all to Google to find out more about this gentleman, if you don't already that is. (pictures below on the left, with Tom and Jeff)

So that was Part 1. There is so much to talk about, so many people to mention and more pictures to find. Certainly of the staff, like Shaun & Megan Hamilton, they did sooooo much work behind the scenes and upfront. Megan even looked after the Disc Zoo shop by herself for half the event, so impressive.

Part 2 will be released tomorrow by 5pm. Comment on our facebook page and let us know what you think.


bottom of page