top of page

My Quest for the 900

Name: Scott Rickard

BDGA: 1242

PDGA: 69513

This blog is here to document my journey from AM to PRO (hopefully).

Lookin' fly - Scott Rickard

I am currently an average AM player, (rated 873) who has been playing disc golf for just over 3 years. I finished 4th in BDGA Championships AM division earlier this year.

Creeksea Disc Golf course - British Champ's 2017

My other highlights from this year include my first 900 rated round! I have 9 in total now with a 974 rated round at the BDGA Championships. I have also taken £16 from Gary O’Malley in a skins match (£1 a hole).

Gary O'Malley

I got addicted to disc sports at university and I played Ultimate for 3 years. After graduating, I started playing disc golf. My first round was at Mount Edgecombe and I blame them for my addiction entirely!

The thing is this sport is so addictive! It started as a way for me to keep throwing these round bits of plastic around but no, it couldn’t be that simple. They had to involve nature,landscapes and trust me, at Edgecombe, there are landscapes and nature galore.

That’s how I got hooked going for a round in glorious weather in beautiful surroundings throwing Frisbee's about. So I’m hooked and as any addict, I need my fix.

Be it a new bit of plastic, watching YouTube, playing a round or even a competition. But unlike an addict, I don’t plan on plateauing because I really want to improve. So with the help of my new sponsor and head coach/company owner, RickRick, I have set myself the challenge! To get to a rating of 900, which is a realistic goal, it's just 3 rating points a month.

RickRick & Scott Rickard at Manchester DG Club

This blog is where I’m going to document my quest. I hope this will keep my focus whilst on the journey. I'll still be entertaining with disc reviews, tournament write ups,

updates on practice and general disc golf news. In the mean time, please comment on, like and share my blog with all your friends and family. I need everyone's support to make the dream a reality!


bottom of page